Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

In Saturdays LSU-Auburn game the officials called a penalty on LSU for illegal motion with 5 seconds to play. The play was nullified and brought back to the line of scrimmage and the penalty was assessed. Should the clock have been reset at 5 seconds

Asked by Rick over 8 years ago

Couple of things here. If the clock was running and the foul for illegal motion stopped the clock, then there could have been a 10 second runoff and the game would be over. If the click wasn't running, then yes you should have the clock reset to five seconds since the play never happened. But, and I'm not clear from your description, if the play was run and the foul was a live ball foul during the play, then you could have an untimed down or Auburn could decline the penalty and the game ends.

Ok- It’s fourth down with 4 sec left. The QB runs backward on 4th down. The clock hits zero and he tosses the ball underhand, skyward to celebrate. The ball comes down to the field and bounces in the end zone. If it went backwards- isn’t it a fumble

Asked by The Old AD over 7 years ago

Yup. Or technically, a backward pass which is still alive. This is the end of the JMU - South Dakota State game that someone just called me about. He thought the whistle had blown and if so, the ref may have felt the QB had "given himself up" knowing what the purpose of the running around was. In truth, the QB should have killed the clock running around and then gone to a knee to end the game.

Why wasn't the 10 second runoff rule enforced in the LA Rams - Atlanta game just before halftime? LA received a holding call with 8 second left to halftime and had no time outs.

Asked by Reggie Beasley over 7 years ago

I'm guessing the NFL rule is the same (similar) to the NCAA. In order for a 10-secind runoff to occur, the foul must cause the clock to stop immediately, such as a false start. If it was a hold, then the play went off and the infraction didn't cause the clock to stop; the play ended and the clock was stopped.

It is 4th down, with 5 seconds left in the game. The offensive team is ahead by 2 points. The QB receives the snap and runs backward and throws the ball up The offensive team storms the field and ball is caught by a player not in the game. Is game o

Asked by Rick over 8 years ago

This play will never never happen, even in a Pop Warner game.

Here is my take:  Too many men on the field and yes 15 yds for unsportsmanship and replay after 15 yds back.

Also, if QB threw up ball, would this be intentional grounding?  If yes, that is a spot foul, 5 yds from spot and loss of down. LOD on 4th down with no time left means that we do not extend so game would be over and B loses if they accept this foul (which they would not).  

The QB would take the snap and run backwards for 4 seconds and then take a knee. Period.

Hello, do you know why NFL players let the last minute of 2nd and 4th quarter go by just walking to the locker room? Why do they do that when the game is fairly close? Is this the same in college football? If so, why? If not, why? Thanks.

Asked by Hanwook Nam over 7 years ago

It doesn't always happen and it's because their coaches decided they aren't gong to run another play. It can't be the last minute, though, because there may be a play clock involved. Beyond that, you'd have to ask a coach why.

Why is a quarterback not charged for "intentional grounding" when he spikes the ball?

Asked by Les over 8 years ago

The rules allow the player who "first controls the snap" to immediately throw it to the ground without being called for grounding.

Upon the flagging for "unsportsmanlike" conduct, why is the "initial" call not enforced when two opposing players are flagged?

Asked by Darius over 7 years ago

I'm not sure what you mean.