Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

Are players required to stop play when an official blows their whistle? Is there an exception in the rule book for when the ball is loose on the field and whistles are blowing? Why reward (on review) a fumble recovery after whistles are blowing?

Asked by bridgbum over 8 years ago

When the whistle blows, the play/action stops. If the ball is loose, as in your example, and an official blows the whistle - likely "inadvertently - then the play/action still stops. There are rules that cover those situations, including a loose ball.

To what extent is a tackler responsible for knowing whether the ballcarrier is in-bounds or OB? Assume late whistles:
A: Ballcarrier steps on sideline and is immediately tackled.
B: Ballcarrier is two steps OB and is tackled.
C. All cases in-between

Asked by Bridgbum over 8 years ago

That's a good question. Simply put, the tackler is responsible - period. And don't assume any whistle; as is often said, the play kills itself, not the whistle. For example, if a player is down and there's no immediate whistle, and the player gets hit, it's a foul, whistle or not.

Back to out of bounds: in your example A, you can envision the tackler right there as the runner hits OOB. You probably don't flag that because it's happening so quickly at the sideline. In B, you have a foul; that's pretty obvious. Cases in between? There really isn't an in-between. If the runner steps out, he's out and can't be hit. If the contact begins while the runner is in bounds, then it's not a foul unless there is unnecessary continuing contact out of bounds.



If there is 1 second left on a football game clock and the play clock counts down to zero because there are so many players and people on the field, why wouldn’t the team who was supposed to make the next game play receive a delay of game penalty?

Asked by Littlebit over 7 years ago

I'm not sure what you mean by "so many players and people on the field". But if the play clock is running and the clock goes to zero, yes, it's a delay of game. Now, if there were substitutions going on (NCAA rules), it is possible that the defense could cause the delay.

Pick up football game -
Defender clearly intercepts the ball and as he is going to the ground offensive player grabs the ball. The defensive player never loses possession of the ball, both players come to the ground with two hands on the ball. Is this a simultaneous catch that is awarded to the offense? or an interception?

Asked by Mbud over 7 years ago

Hmmm, pick up game? I'm giving that to the defense. He had the ball; you said clearly. If he was on the ground - on his feet - he has pissrssion.

Last play of game... QB runs around and clock expires. He throws the ball up in the air and the opposing team falls on the ball in the end zone. What is the call?

Asked by Jack over 7 years ago

Well, if they fall on the ball, the implication is that the ball is on the ground. That's an incomplete pass and the game is over. If they intercept it and fall on the grounds, the game is over.

10/1/16 Lou vs Clem ques you replied: A def hold is only an auto 1st down if it's against eligible receiver. If not, then like any other penalty, the down is repeated after 10 yard mark off. So, result of play + 10 yards + repeat of down? Thx

Asked by Gorilla over 8 years ago

No. If you accept the DH, then you go from the enforcement spot (previous spot ), Mark off 10vyards, repeat down.

If a touchdown can be made by just breaking the end zone plane, why wasn’t Jesse James’ touchdown at the end of the Steelers/Patriots game on 12/17/17 upheld? It was an EXTREMELY poor call reversal.

Asked by Janice over 7 years ago

Well, you're asking me to explain the NFL's catch rule which is inexplicable. I saw it, got excited because i root for anyone playing the Pats, then realized that it was being reviewed. Meaning logic went out the window. James was not a runner. He was a pass receiver who had not yet become a runner. With me still? As a result, he had to "survive tbe ground", even though the NFL's Al Riveron actually said in his explanation that Ben completed a pass to James. Had James been a runner, then breaking the plane scores the TD, as you state. But he was not a runner, he was still a receiver. Still with me now? Had he pulled the ball in to his body, he probably catches it and the Steelers set up for the next play on the 1 1/2. Had gecstill been in college, it's likely a catch, too. Or as Tony Dungy said, anywhere but the NFL, that's a touchdown.