Zebra
Somewhere in, NJ
Male, 62
I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!
With one exception the answer is yes. If a receiver catches the ball while on the ground then no time comes off - touching and being down are at the same moment. In all other scenarios- whether it's K or R - some time comes off. The clock starts with legal touching in the field of play. K cannot advance it so the clock would wind and then be stopped.
The goal post is out of bounds. By touching the goal post before touching the ground in bounds, the receiver is out of bounds. Incomplete pass.
As long as the passer is behind the line of scrimmage then yes.
This is a site dealing with officiating. Find the one dealing with being a quarterback.
Magician
Bodybuilder
Help Desk Technician
A player who touches anything or anyone that is out if bounds makes that player out of bounds. So yes.
In college, technically the answer is yes. Rule 9-1-4 Note 2: "Leading with helmet, shoulder, forearm, fist, hand or elbow to attack with forcible contact at the head or neck area". Would it be called? Maybe, mabe not. It is a bang-bang play and when there isn't a launch or a crouch and upward drive by the tacker, it's a bit tougher to call. But if it's on film - and it is - and a supervisor sees that you didn't call it, you've got a problem. At the very least, you have a personal foul.
You'll have to contact Fox Sports for that answer.
-OR-
(max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)