Zebra
Somewhere in, NJ
Male, 62
I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!
You'd think that, wouldn't you? What happened here, though, is the "line to gain" had not been set; the chains weren't set yet. So under that circumstance (Rule 5-2-7) the penalty is enforced and then the chains are set. It reads: The penalty for any dead ball foul....that occurs after a series ends [they made the line to gain] and before the ball is ready for play shall be completed before the line to gain is established.
1st and 10 from the 16,
You gave the answer: "On a pass two feet are required". And that's two different feet, otherwise it's one foot.
If he starts jogging downfield, you could consider it a delay of game foul. But that's sort of a stretch. Unless there's some exigent circumstance that I can't figure out, the receiver is creating a false start. That also assumes that the team is pretty much ready to snap the ball - he's on the wrong side of the ball. If a receiver is too far up, an official - the linesman or line judge - might tell him to "watch the ball" and let him correct himself. But the receiver doesn't seem too sharp.
Yes. Within limits. He cannot be moving forward at the time of the snap. Everyone must have come to a complete stop before he starts to move sideways. But, the basic answer is, yes.
Rap Promoter / Manager
Do venues you rent express concern about a higher risk of violence because it's a rap concert?
Radio program/music director
Do radio stations have to pay royalties to artists to play their songs?
Sr. Software Engineer
Are those $12,000 "learn to program" bootcamps a rip-off?
That's a TD for B. A2 gets disqualified for the swing - contact isn't necessary. Enforce penalty on the try.
There are several scenarios to what you ask. If a ball carrier's helmet comes off, the play is dead immediately. That's a safety issue. If anyone else's helmet comes off, they have an opportunity to step away and not participate; the play goes on. If a player's helmet comes off and he is already engaged (making a play on the runner, in process of making a block) he may continue. If a player's helmet comes off, he may not continue to play (beyond a step or two) or it is a personal foul.
It could be. It is a matter of interpretation and judgment by the official. A push off is likely okay. A grab and twist? Then it is no different than any other face mask call.
-OR-
Login with Facebook (max 20 characters - letters, numbers, and underscores only. Note that your username is private, and you have the option to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)
(A valid e-mail address is required. Your e-mail will not be shared with anyone.)
(min 5 characters)
By checking this box, you acknowledge that you have read and agree to Jobstr.com’s Terms and Privacy Policy.
-OR-
Register with Facebook(Don't worry: you'll be able to choose an alias when asking questions or hosting a Q&A.)