Football Official

Football Official

Zebra

Somewhere in, NJ

Male, 62

I've officiated football for over 30 years, now in my 26th on the college level. I've worked NCAA playoffs at the Division II and III level. In addition, I've coached at the scholastic level and have been an educator for over 35 years. I have no interest whatsoever in being an NFL official! Ever!

SubscribeGet emails when new questions are answered. Ask Me Anything!Show Bio +

Share:

Ask me anything!

Submit Your Question

514 Questions

Share:

Last Answer on January 23, 2021

Best Rated

In a TX high school game, the kicker missed the ball when he was attempting to kick off. Kind of a "Charlie Brown" moment...lol. Anyway, the ref's acted like it didn't even happen and rekicked it. Shouldn't it have been an offside penalty?

Asked by Ray's dad almost 11 years ago

No.  Although I undrstand your idea.  On a kickoff, only the kicker may (technically) be in front of the restrainig line. Especially with "soccer sdtyle" kickers, they often approach from the side.  In this case, the generally accepted practice is to pretty much call a do over, which is what they did.  No kick, no play.

Does a college football coach have the option of declining a "running into the punter" penalty and simply accept the result of his team's punt?

Asked by LaVerne over 10 years ago

Technically, you can decline any penalty. Running into is a five yard penalty. I've seen that often. If you don't get a first down with five yards and it was a great punt, flip the field and decline the penalty.

When a QB is behind the line of scrimmage, when is it considered a sack to a minus rushing attempt?

Asked by Turk over 10 years ago

That's a statistical issue, which officials don't really deal with.  My personal understanding is that sacks are rushing attempts.

Can you have a padded structure that shelters your players like an above ground dugout in Men's football not soccer as long as it is far enough away from playing surface.

Asked by Bravovictor over 11 years ago

First thought: why? You have heated benches and, believe me. it's hard enough leaving them to go on the field if it's cold.  There is nothing in the NCAA rule book prohibiting it. But I'm imagining Bud Grant, the old-time coach of the Vikings, spinning in his grave.  When the Vikings played outdoors, he didn't allow heated benches. Dugouts or soccer type enclosures? It just ain't football.

Suppose STL-SEA game is tied 17-17. In OT, STL receives ball and kicks FG. SEA returns kickoff to STL 10. SEA throws interception to STL defender at the 2, who backtracks and is tackled for safety. OT safety ends game, so does SEA win 19-20?!

Asked by John A. over 11 years ago

I can't answer definitively for the NFL, but in college the answer would be no.  In college there is a momentum rule (and a fellow official says he's pretty sure it exists in the NFL, too).  It's to prevenrt cheap safeties on good efensive plays like the one you describe.  Inside the five, if a player intercepts or receives a punt, then goes into the end zone where he is downed, the ball would come out to the spot of the interception/kick reception. That's why you see officials toss a bean bag at that spot. It would be the defense's ball - in this case Seattle - 1/10 at the 2.

Can multiple players wear the same number as long as they are not on the field at the same time and as long as they play within the jersey number allowed for that position. In other words can an offense have two #80 WRs that would rotate in and out

Asked by Bravovictor over 11 years ago

You had a yes answer until you threw in that last line.  I'm going to deal with NCAA rules.  Rule 1-4-2-e reads: Two players playing the same position may not wear the same number during the game. [Italics added] The obvious reason is deception and unsportsmanlike activity.  You could, in theory, have a #80 playing WR and also have an 80 at defensive end.  To take it one step further, if you do have two 80's, for example, they cannot be in the gane at the same time.

Is the wrong ball play unsportsmanlike.

QB comes to line says that the ball is the wrong ball and center hands it to the QB and he starts to walk over to coach but then takes off down the field

Asked by Bchball almost 11 years ago

I have to tell you, the play situations that come up here are so strange.  I just don't see this stuff.  Anyway, if it's first down - the team is going under center fior the first time - you change it.  If the QB says somnething and the officials respond.  But if the center picks up the ball to show the ref, you have a foul on the offense.

College rules: Legally snapping the ball (a snap) is handing or passing it
backward from its position on the ground with a quick and continuous motion
of the hand or hands, the ball actually leaving the hand or hands in this motion
(Rule 4-1-4).
b. The snap starts when the ball is moved legally and ends when the ball leaves
the snapper’s hands (A.R. 7-1-5-I-II).

In addition:

Rule 7, ARTICLE 3. Each of the following is a dead-ball foul. Officials should
blow the whistle and not allow the play to continue. After the ball is ready for
play and before it is snapped:
a. Snapper. The snapper:

2. May not lift the ball, move it beyond the neutral zone or simulate the
start of a play

From my perspective, the play you describe should not happen.  If it does, it's a foul. And if all else fails, use Rule 9-2-3-d: An obviously unfair act not specifically covered by the rules occurs during the game since the action is intended to deceive and abuse the rules of the game.